Shave & Review http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk Just another Consume and Review Sites site Sat, 08 Dec 2018 12:55:23 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.8 Pankhurst London Shave Cream http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/pankhurst-london-shave-cream/ Sat, 08 Dec 2018 12:55:23 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=653 Another London-based barbershop. Established in 2012. Used with: Gillette Super Thin (2nd shave) I scooped a reasonable amount of of the tin and then used my badger brush to build a lather. The cream is very soft, more mousse-like. I had no problem building a good lather and had plenty for my usual routine. Slickness - Read the rest of this review]]>

Another London-based barbershop. Established in 2012.

Used with: Gillette Super Thin (2nd shave)

I scooped a reasonable amount of of the tin and then used my badger brush to build a lather. The cream is very soft, more mousse-like. I had no problem building a good lather and had plenty for my usual routine. Slickness felt good but I did pick up a few small nicks, they either sealed themselves or cold water did the job. My neck had some roughness in the usual trouble-spots but otherwise was pretty good. WTG my face was smooth. ATG there was some resistance, but nothing more. Some areas got close to BBS but not quite. Post shave feel was nice. I did get a brief hint of the fragrance, but it’s certainly not strong. A very good shave.

Used with: Kai Stainless (3rd shave)

I extracted some mousse-like cream using my little finger and applied it to my synthetic brush. The brush was a little wetter than usual but I generated plenty of good lather. Slickness felt okay. I did pick up a few nicks, but they were re-opening existing injuries rather than new ones. My neck had a little irritation but was smooth aside from some roughness in one of my trouble-spots. My jawline was better than usual though. WTG my face was smooth. ATG there was some resistance but no real roughness. Nowhere got close to BBS though. Post shave feel was okay. I don’t recall the fragrance at any point. A good shave.

Used with: Gillette 7 O’clock Super Platinum (1st shave)

I scooped out a small amount of cream and applied it to my boar brush. The softness makes extracting it from the tin very easy. It was quick to provide a nice lather. Slickness felt good and I didn’t pick up any nicks save catching a pimple. My neck was okay. Not the smoothest it’s ever been but the only real roughness was limited to the usual trouble-spots. WTG my face felt smooth, but not buttery. ATG there was plenty of resistance but that was it. Nowhere made it to BBS. Post shave feel was okay. Even when hunting I couldn’t detect any fragrance. A pretty good shave.

Used with: Gillette 7 O’clock Super Platinum (4th shave)

I scooped out a slab of cream, too much to be honest, but it’s so soft that’s easy to do. I was able to generate a good lather, and plenty of it, using my synthetic brush. Slickness felt good and I didn’t pick up any nicks. My neck was generally good, with some roughness in the usual trouble-spots, but less than normal. Smooth WTG on my face. I had a little resistance ATG, but otherwise it was good although borderline in a few places. Nowhere made it to BBS. I got a whiff of the fragrance during the shave this time, only during the touch-up phase though, before that it had remained elusive. It’s pleasant but so weak as to be almost pointless. Post shave feel was soft but very dry. A good shave.

Used with: Super-Max Stainless (2nd shave)

I used one of my other razors this time, a Gillette Slim Adjustable, set to 6. I used my synthetic brush to work up a lather. Although I shook it out, the first pass was very wet, but subsequent passes were better. Slickness felt okay, but I was left with some irritation, mainly on my top lip. My neck was nice and smooth, except for my usual trouble-spots. WTG my face was very smooth. ATG there was some resistance, and in some places it was close to roughness. Post shave feel was okay for softness, but dry. I got a brief waft of the fragrance during one of the lather applications, but that was it. Nice, but very subtle. A good shave.

Verdict

Yet another pretentious London barber producing their own range, yawn.

It’s unusual in that this is less a cream and more a mousse. It’s very soft and very airy. The only other products of a similar consistency I’ve used are LEA and Simpsons. The ingredients differ slightly from those, but they’re both available in similar packaging at much lower prices.

None of that would matter if the product delivered, but I found that, while a solid option, it was unremarkable.

It was great at generating a lather, providing a good, and generally cushioning, layer on my face. I was never able to get a really good shave, with acceptable being the default setting.

Apparently, it’s bay rum and lime scented. Even having been told that I couldn’t really pick it up, certainly not the bay rum. I maybe got a hint of lime — there was something there, but I wouldn’t have been able to identify it. It was also so weak as to be all but unnoticeable in practice.

Post shave feel wasn’t bad, but again, nothing spectacular.

Although a fairly standard tin, I like the packaging, the black powder coating looks good and feels nice.

That doesn’t justify a price tag of £25 though. It didn’t offer anything over products less than a tenth of the price, and even taking money out of the equation it didn’t sparkle.

]]>
L’Occitane L’Occitan After Shave Balm http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/loccitane-loccitan-after-shave-balm/ Sat, 01 Dec 2018 12:56:50 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=652 Another product from this French brand. 1st shave It’s described differently to the Cedrat offering, this actually stating it’s a balm rather than a cream gel. It felt thicker when I tried to apply it, meaning it didn’t smooth on quite as easily. It was still absorbed quickly though, without any greasy sensations. I don’t - Read the rest of this review]]>

Another product from this French brand.

1st shave

It’s described differently to the Cedrat offering, this actually stating it’s a balm rather than a cream gel. It felt thicker when I tried to apply it, meaning it didn’t smooth on quite as easily.

It was still absorbed quickly though, without any greasy sensations.

I don’t recall picking up the fragrance when I applied it and, even smelling the tube itself, it’s not the strongest scent. What I could pick up was not unpleasant though.

I can’t say it provided more moisture than other balms, or that it helped stem some of the irritation I had.

2nd shave

I squeezed slightly more than a pea-sized amount out of the tube. I’d dried my face after splashing water on it and the lack of moisture meant it didn’t spread very easily. I had to drag it over my skin.

That said, it was absorbed quickly and didn’t leave a greasy feel.

The fragrance is subtle but insistent. It’s not in-your-face, but it lingers after application. For me, the spicy cade dominates.

It was okay, it didn’t leave my skin very soft or moisturised, but wasn’t bad.

3rd shave

I used a little more this time, but it still involved dragging it over my dry face, it didn’t spread easily and felt like a struggle.

Again, no greasy feel while applying but I was left with a slightly greasy residue.

The fragrance was there, although quite subtle, from application and it remained present for a good while after.

My face felt soft but a bit dry.

4th shave

This time I used plenty, which made it much easier to cover my face, but the thickness of the balm also meant it left a bit of a layer and I could feel some residue for quite a while after.

Out of the bottle, held to my nose, I could barely discern the fragrance at all. It was a little stronger once applied. It’s not an unpleasant scent, but it’s not one I would hunt down either.

It left my face soft, but a little dry still.

Verdict

I wasn’t entirely sure what the difference was between this and the standard Cade line. Unlike the Cedrat range, this isn’t as visually distinct.

The L’Occitan fragrance is described as having “a base of nutmeg, cade, cedar and musk, middle notes of lavender and top notes of black pepper and bergamot.” Cade is much more heavily focused on the cade part.

It’s supplied in a tube designed to mimic the metal that the larger sizes come in, but it’s actually just plastic.

Aside from the fragrance, the ingredients do differ from the Cedrat “Gel-Cream” and it contains shea butter, among other things. I can’t say it was noticeably thicker, but it was a little harder to spread and when I used more I was left with a residue on my skin.

Again, this doesn’t offer enough, in terms of performance or fragrance, to justify the price in my opinion.

]]>
L’Occitane Cedrat After-Shave Cream Gel http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/loccitane-cedrat-after-shave-cream-gel/ Sat, 24 Nov 2018 16:32:12 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=651 The newest range from L’Occitane. 1st shave I squeezed a small amount out of the tube. It says gel on the packaging, but it just a regular balm. It spread on easily and was quickly absorbed without leaving a greasy residue. Afterwards it felt reasonably so, and a bit more hydrated than with some others, - Read the rest of this review]]>

The newest range from L’Occitane.

1st shave

I squeezed a small amount out of the tube. It says gel on the packaging, but it just a regular balm.

It spread on easily and was quickly absorbed without leaving a greasy residue.

Afterwards it felt reasonably so, and a bit more hydrated than with some others, but it was still fairly dry.

The fragrance is subtle, even straight from the tube, but it does have some staying power. You’ll need to hunt for it though. It’s not unpleasant but it didn’t impress me either.

Nice enough end result but it didn’t stand out above other balms.

2nd shave

Again, a small amount of product was all that was necessary to cover my face.

No greasiness or unpleasant residue and it was absorbed quickly.

I didn’t have any irritation so can’t say how well it would have subdued that.

If I held my hands to my nose I was able to pick up the fragrance well enough to detect the hints of citrus. Otherwise it was far too subtle.

I was left soft but still a little dry.

3rd shave

I used the same amount as the previous time, but my skin was dry and I practically had to drag it over my face.

It disappeared quickly, unsurprisingly, and while my face didn’t feel bad, it wasn’t as soft as with some, and was still pretty dry.

I didn’t pick up the fragrance at all during application, certainly not noticeably, although I did detect the faintest hint lingering on my skin afterwards. It was pleasant, with a bright note.

4th shave

I used a little more cream this time. It was a bit easier to get a coating, but not easy.

No problems with greasy feel though. And no residue left behind.

It left my skin averagely soft but a little dry.

The fragrance didn’t stand out, it’s dialed back so far as to be almost undetectable, but it’s there if you search and remained for some time afterwards.

Verdict

Cedrat, as far as I could tell, is a type of citrus fruit (the original bearer for a group that includes the likes of lemon, orange and bergamot).

L’Occitane describe it as blending “citrus notes and woody spices for a fresh, aquatic scent.” It certainly doesn’t come across as citrus to my nose. I don’t get aquatic either. For me it’s a more woody scent, very fresh.

It’s supplied in a tube designed to mimic the metal that the larger sizes come in, but it’s actually just plastic.

Considering the price of it, I was expecting something impressive, but all I got was an adequate moisturiser. It’s didn’t stand out above products available at much lower prices.

In the more expensive lines, aside from higher quality, and typically natural, ingredients, you’re paying for the fragrance. It’s so weak here as to be almost indiscernible without effort. It’s nice enough, but I would take their usual Cade scent over it.

A good enough package, but not worthy of the price.

]]>
Dorco PACE 3 Plus Razor http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/dorco-pace-3-plus-razor/ Thu, 22 Nov 2018 08:14:24 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=646 A South Korean brand you might not recognise. 1st Shave (used with Kiehl’s White Eagle Ultimate Brushless cream) I used the cream as I have for previous shaves, which is pretty much the same with any brushless cream, only with a little less product (as per their recommendations). No tugging, but I had relatively little - Read the rest of this review]]>

A South Korean brand you might not recognise.

1st Shave (used with Kiehl’s White Eagle Ultimate Brushless cream)

I used the cream as I have for previous shaves, which is pretty much the same with any brushless cream, only with a little less product (as per their recommendations). No tugging, but I had relatively little stubble. I didn’t pick up any nicks either. My neck was generally good, though not great, but I did have a few rougher spots. ATG my face felt okay. ATG there was plenty of resistance, bordering on roughness. I will say that, without the trimming blade, I struggled to get the area directly under my nose so ended up with a rough strip there. Other places commonly missed by cartridge razors, like the corners of my mouth were also a little rough. Overall, just about a good shave.

2nd shave (used with Dove Men+Care Pro Moisture Sensitive Shave Cream)

I smoothed on the cream and set to work. I had a good amount of stubble, having used an electric shaver the previous day, so I got a little tugging on my top lip. Other than that, it sliced through my whiskers with ease. I opened a couple of previous wounds, but otherwise was nick-free. I paid special attention to my trouble-spots, which were still rough, but the rest of my neck was very good. WTG my face was slippery smooth. ATG was good too, with minimal resistance. Nowhere quite made it to BBS, but a couple of places went close. Post shave feel was soft but dry. I struggled a little with the area under my nose and I didn’t quite get all of it, despite my efforts. I also had a little roughness in the nooks and crannies that cartridges struggle with. Still, a very good shave.

3rd shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter)

A small amount of cream provided enough slickness for my usual routine. I didn’t get any tugging or irritation. I had some roughness in my usual trouble-spots, but otherwise my neck was pretty good. WTG my face felt fine, though not super-smooth. ATG there was some resistance, but no roughness, though it was close in a few places. I did have a line of roughness under my nose, where I was unable to reach, and in the nooks around my mouth and chin. Post shave feel was soft but very dry. An average shave.

4th shave (used with Harry’s Shave Gel)

I covered my face using the gel, re-applying from the remnants in my palm for each pass. Slickness was good and I didn’t get any tugging, nicks or irritation. My neck was good, except for the usual trouble-spots. I paid special attention to them but that didn’t make any difference. WTG my face was super smooth. ATG there was some resistance but no roughness. There was a very thin line of roughness under my nose. A few places on my chin went close to BBS, but not quite. Post shave feel was okay, reasonably soft but dry. A very good shave.

5th shave (used with Groomed Moisture Zone Shave Cream)

I lathered up with my synthetic brush. Slickness felt good but I did open a prior nick or two, these were sealed before I finished though. My neck was very good with the only hint of roughness in the usual trouble-spots. My face was super smooth WTG. ATG there was some minor resistance, but no roughness. Nowhere made it close to BBS though. I did have that line of roughness under my nose, but it was so thin as to be unnoticeable. Post shave feel was soft but a bit dry. A very good shave.

Verdict

I opted for three blades as I believe that to be the best balance in a multi-blade cartridge. It’s not too large, yet offers a quick and usually nick-free experience, at least that’s what I have found with my Mach3.

The trial pack includes a handle and four blades, but no cream or foam. Still, hard to complain for the price.

As I mentioned on my DSC razor review, the fitting is exactly the same, so the cartridges are interchangeable.

The razor felt a little cheap compared to the DSC one. Although it has some metal in it, it did feel a little lighter than the Executive from DSC, but the ergonomics didn’t feel as good either. This is the budget end of their line though, with four- and six-blade options also available.

I assumed the ‘trimming’ blade that some of the bigger cartridges use was a gimmick, to fight concerns about getting the slab of plastic close to the underside of your nose. The lack of one here showed, despite only having three blades, it does serve a purpose. That’s partly because the two strips either side of the blades make the head on this much larger than a Mach3.

It’s fair to say that the quality of my shaves varied with this. When I took the time to follow a full routine it worked well, even with brushless creams. If I rushed, unsurprisingly, it was pretty average.

It’s not as flash as the more expensive models, but I still prefer it to Harry’s, although their razor did provide more consistent shaves than this. For the price though, this is hard to beat. If you’re looking at Dollar Shave Club these guys should definitely be considered. They are the same blades, but a lot cheaper as they don’t come with all the marketing hype.

]]>
Groomed Moisture Zone Shave Cream http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/groomed-moisture-zone-shave-cream/ Sat, 10 Nov 2018 12:37:22 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=643 Not sure if this is the same as the tub I looked at previously, another Creightons’ product. Used with: Gillette Super Thin (3rd shave) I’ve previously used this range, only in a tub, rather than a tube. It’s no longer available in my local supermarket, so wondered if things had changed. It felt firmer, taking - Read the rest of this review]]>

Not sure if this is the same as the tub I looked at previously, another Creightons’ product.

Used with: Gillette Super Thin (3rd shave)

I’ve previously used this range, only in a tub, rather than a tube. It’s no longer available in my local supermarket, so wondered if things had changed. It felt firmer, taking effort to squeeze out of the tube. Once I applied a reasonable amount to my synthetic brush I was able to work up a good lather, although it needed some extra water to help it shine. Slickness felt pretty good and the few tiny nicks I picked up sealed themselves. I had a little roughness in my usual trouble-spots, but everywhere else was good on my neck, and even my trouble-spots were better than usual. Silky smooth WTG on my face. ATG it was good too, with only limited resistance and no roughness. The odd spot went close to BBS. Post shave feel was soft but dry. I picked up the fragrance at the start, the same as the tub I used before, but I don’t recall it later in the shave, or afterwards. A very good shave.

Used with: Gillette 7 O’Clock Super Platinum (4th shave)

I squeezed a reasonable amount onto my synthetic brush, then worked it up. The quality of the lather wasn’t great, but slickness was fine. I didn’t pick up any nicks. My neck wasn’t perfect, but was generally very good. There was some roughness low down, but my trouble-spots were better than usual. WTG my face was very smooth. There was minimal resistance ATG. Nowhere quite made it to BBS though. Post shave feel was pretty good, maybe a touch dry. I can’t say I remember detecting a fragrance except when cleaning up some spillage at the start. A very good shave.

Used with: Rapira Swedish Supersteel (3rd shave)

I squeezed a couple of centimetres of cream onto a finger and transferred it to my badger brush’s bristles. It generated a good, thick lather with minimal work and I had more than enough for my usual routine. Slickness was good and I didn’t pick up any nicks. I had a little bit of roughness low down on my neck, and along my jawline (one of my trouble-spots). Otherwise, my neck was good. WTG was nice and smooth on my face. ATG there was some resistance, but no real resistance. My chin got very close to BBS, but not quite. Post shave feel was pretty average. I got a strong blast of the fragrance as I worked up the first pass and I got it throughout the shave. It’s a nice scent. A very good shave.

Used with: Personna Q-Ball (1st shave)

I used my boar brush this time, with the same amount as before. It took a little more water and work to get a good consistency, but I then had plenty for my usual routine. Slickness felt pretty good and I didn’t get any nicks. I had a little roughness low down on one side, and along my jawline, but otherwise my neck was very good. My face was nice and smooth WTG. ATG it was also good, with some resistance but no roughness. Nowhere made it to BBS though. Post shave feel was okay, soft but dry. I got a good whiff of the fragrance early on, but I don’t recall it later in the shave. A very good shave.

Used with: Kai Stainless (2nd shave)

I used my synthetic brush and with a small amount of cream was able to build a fantastic lather. Slickness felt pretty good but it was a blood bath. This was largely due to opening nicks from previous shaves, but I also managed to scrape an area of my lip due to poor handling, so I don’t blame the cream. I was also left with some irritation. My neck finished up very smooth, with even my trouble-spots better than usual. WTG my face was slick. ATG there was a little resistance but it was the smoothest shave I’ve had in a long time. Some areas made it to BBS in fact. Post shave feel was soft but dry. I recall the fragrance a little during the shave, mainly at the start, but it wasn’t in my face. A great shave.

Verdict

The ingredients are identical to Creighton’s For Men range, but with a slightly different (to my nose) fragrance. You also seem to get a bit more for less money as well, offering even better value. And, at this price, it’s offering insane value.

I’ve looked at Groomed shave cream before, when it was in a tub that I could get from my local supermarket. They stopped selling it long ago and it doesn’t look like it comes in the tub anymore. Comparing ingredient lists, they’re identical though.

I think I got my tub on sale (half price), which is why it looks like the value has dropped slightly in the intervening four years, but it would still be hard to complain.

I was able to get quality shaves with a variety of blades. No issues building a good lather. Slickness and protection were there as well. The only thing that lets it down, for me, is the fragrance. It’s not bad, but it’s not my cup of tea.

This puts many of the bigger-name brands to shame on performance, and offers value that is hard to beat. Impossible not to recommend.

]]>
Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/dr-carvers-easy-shave-butter/ Sat, 03 Nov 2018 11:39:23 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=641 This is another product by Dollar Shave Club. 1st shave (used with Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor) I got this in my starter pack, along with the Executive razor. After removing the foil, I squeezed a small amount into my hand and proceeded to use it like any other brushless cream. Which is to say that - Read the rest of this review]]>

This is another product by Dollar Shave Club.

1st shave (used with Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor)

I got this in my starter pack, along with the Executive razor. After removing the foil, I squeezed a small amount into my hand and proceeded to use it like any other brushless cream. Which is to say that I spread it across my slightly wet face using the palm of one hand and kept any left over to use for subsequent passes. It has a non-lathering formula and is designed to be transparent — which makes it hard to see where you’ve applied it. Slickness felt very good and I only picked up a couple of tiny nicks that sealed themselves. The second largest ingredient is glyrcerin, so not a massive surprise. They don’t mention the fragrance anywhere, but I did pick up something very subtle when I hunted for it. It contains lavender and rosemary and I suspect that’s what it was. Not the closest shave I’ve had, but above average, so we’ll call it a good shave.

2nd shave (used with Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor)

I squeezed a reasonable amount into my palm before spreading over my stubble. I got a good coating but it was impossible to see where. Slickness felt good and adding water made it very slippery. Between that and any residue on my hand I was able to do a few passes with ease. No nicks or irritation. The finish wasn’t the smoothest, with some rough patches and resistance, but was generally pretty good. Surprisingly so in a few places. Post shave feel was soft and smooth. The fragrance was so subtle that I had to hunt for it, but it’s not worth the effort. Overall, a good shave.

3rd shave (used with Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor)

Again, a reasonable amount of cream was all that I needed to create a smooth layer to shave with. Repeat applications from the amount in my palm, plus a little water, gave a great amount of slickness. I didn’t pick up any nicks. I did get a little tugging on my top lip on the first pass. My neck was pretty good, aside from some roughness in the usual trouble-spots. WTG my face was good. ATG there was some resistance, but no real roughness. Nowhere approached BBS. I hunted for the fragrance at the start and picked up the lavender (I think), but it vanished during the shave. A good shave.

4th shave (used with Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor)

It doesn’t take a lot of cream to provide a good layer. Slickness felt pretty good, but I did seem to open up a few more of my pre-existing nicks than usual. No tugging this time, but my stubble was shorter. My neck was okay, not especially close but the only roughness was limited to the usual trouble-spots. WTG wasn’t overly smooth on my face. ATG there was plenty of resistance but no real roughness. Post shave feel was okay. I got a whiff of the lavender a couple of times during the shave, but nothing too strong. An average shave.

5th shave (used with Personna Q-Ball, 3rd shave)

I squeezed a small amount onto my palm (a couple of peas’ worth) and covered my stubble. It felt slick but I did pick up a few nicks, though most of these were re-opening old wounds. I had a patch of roughness low down on my neck, but otherwise it was good. My jawline seemed better than usual. WTG my face felt okay. ATG was a different story. Resistance is normal, but there was lots, some of it full-on roughness. Post shave feel was soft but dry. I had a whiff of the ‘butter’ before applying and couldn’t pick up a scent. Just about a good shave.

Verdict

In the starter pack, you get a smaller 86g size. The normal tube is 170g for £7, which isn’t too bad, comparing well on price to a lot of shave creams.

This is another cream that is high in glycerin, which is what provides the slickness and glide. It has a slight transparency rather than being entirely opaque, but don’t let the name fool you, this is a regular shave cream.

I never managed a great shave with this, but that’s pretty standard with brushless creams, especially when using cartridge razors, and I don’t usually give these shaves the same love and attention I do when I use a brush.

It performed will though, to the point where I happily used this as a grab and go above some of my other brushless creams.

The fragrance is very subtle, practically non-existent, so if that’s your thing find something else. I also didn’t like the fact that it disappeared when applied, making it hard to see where I had and had not shaved.

Overall though, I was impressed, and I ‘d certainly use it again. It’ll make its way into my brushless rotation.

]]>
Dollar Shave Club Executive Razor http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/dollar-shave-club-executive-razor/ Sat, 27 Oct 2018 12:55:30 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=638 If you’re into shaving and you haven’t heard of these guys, where have you been? 1st shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter) I applied some of the included shave butter and dove straight in, despite the lack of any lather making it a touch difficult to see where it was. It cut through - Read the rest of this review]]>

If you’re into shaving and you haven’t heard of these guys, where have you been?

1st shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter)

I applied some of the included shave butter and dove straight in, despite the lack of any lather making it a touch difficult to see where it was. It cut through my stubble without issue. I could feel the sharpness but only picked up a couple of tiny nicks that self-sealed. My neck felt okay, not especially close but the only roughness was limited to my usual trouble-spots. WTG my face was good, but there were a couple of patches at the corners of my mouth that interrupted the flow. I used the trimming blade to get under my nose as the large head made that hard. ATG was good too, with some resistance but no roughness (outside those small areas). Nowhere even approached BBS. Post shave feel was okay. I did pick up a slight fragrance from the shave butter, when I hunted for it. Above average so we’ll call it a good shave.

2nd shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter)

I applied some shave butter and followed my usual routine. I got a bit of tugging on my top lip, but otherwise it sliced through nice and cleanly. I didn’t pick up any nicks. My neck felt pretty good, not the closest but not bad. I had some roughness in my usual trouble-spots. My face felt good WTG. ATG there was some resistance and a few rough patches. I didn’t use the trimming blade this time so had some stubble under my nose, plus in the nooks around my mouth and chin. Nowhere got close to BBS. Post shave feel was smooth but dry. There was a very subtle fragrance from the shave butter. Just about a good shave.

3rd shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter)

Again, a reasonable amount of cream was all that I needed to create a smooth layer to shave with. I did get a little tugging on my top lip on the first pass. My neck was pretty good, aside from some roughness in the usual trouble-spots. WTG my face was good. ATG there was some resistance, but no real roughness. Nowhere approached BBS. I remembered to use the trimming blade this time and that removed line of roughness under my nose, although I did find the blade in an odd place, and set at an odd angle, but it worked. To give it credit, the razor is easy to use, hassle-free and sliced through my stubble with ease. A good shave.

4th shave (used with Dr Carver’s Easy Shave Butter)

It didn’t take a lot of cream to provide a good layer. Slickness felt pretty good, but I did seem to open up a few more of my pre-existing nicks than usual. No tugging this time, but my stubble was shorter. My neck was okay, not especially close but the only roughness was limited to the usual trouble-spots. WTG wasn’t overly smooth on my face. ATG there was plenty of resistance but no real roughness. Post shave feel was okay. I got a whiff of the lavender a couple of times during the shave, but nothing too strong. An average shave.

5th shave (used with Lucky Tiger Liquid Shave Cream)

After spreading the cream over my face, I dove in with my usual routine. No tugging this time, although I had limited stubble. No nicks either. My neck was very good, even my usual trouble-spots were better than normal. WTG my face was nice and smooth. There was plenty of resistance ATG, bordering on roughness in places. Nowhere came close to BBS. The trimming blade proved useful in getting to the area under my nose. Post shave feel was soft but very dry. A very good shave.

6th shave (used with Creighton’s For Men Ultra-Rich Shave Cream)

I loaded up using my synthetic brush, having a good lather and plenty of it. Slickness felt good and I didn’t get any nicks or irritation. No issues with tugging, despite having a good amount of stubble. Aside from the usual trouble-spots, my neck was good. WTG my face was smooth. ATG there was some resistance but that was it. Nowhere came close to BBS though. The trimming blade was again necessary for under my nose. Post shave feel was pretty good, perhaps a little dry. A very good shave.

Verdict

In the starter set you get a handle, four blades and some shave butter. My box came with two handles for some reason.

I happened to sign up for Dorco’s subscription offering at the same time, and can confirm the razors use exactly the same mechanism to attach the blades — confirming that DSC use Dorco blades. Handy if you want to swap between them.

Although it has more blades, the head on the Executive was about the same size as the Harry’s Truman. The blades are simply packed tighter together. It pivots more like a Gillette product, rather than simply being hinged like the Truman. That made the head look smaller and gave it a classier feel (granted this was their top-of-the-range razor but Harry’s two offerings use the same blades).

Subsequent months are £8 for four cartridges. Which is about the same price as Mach3 blades, but slightly less than standard Fusion cartridges, and way less than ProGlide cartridges. That’s for the whopping six-bladed Executive. They do also offer lower tiers with fewer blades and cheaper-looking handles for £6 (four blades) and £3 (two blades) a month.

Realistically, you could get away with a couple of cartridges a month, maybe even one (the two-blade offering gives you five cartridges a month!). The good news is you can alter the schedule, thereby saving by only getting cartridges every other month, or even less frequently.

In terms of performance, I’ll start by saying I really enjoyed using this. It felt good in the hand, with a nice size and weight. The head, although big, didn’t feel as cumbersome as the Harry’s razor.

That said, it lacked a little in consistency. To get the best shave I had to perform as many passes as with my DE razor. If I tried fewer, despite the higher number of blades, it only gave me average shaves. I came to appreciate the trimming blade — which I’d previously considered a gimmick — to help reach the areas you simply can’t with such a large cartridge. The sheer size of it makes getting into any odd crevices impossible though.

I aim to use it as a quick-n-dirty alternative to my electric razor in between DE shaves, and it largely does the job in this regard, but you will notice the drop in shave quality.

The trial pack offers pretty good value. Although more expensive than Harry’s, you get four cartridges instead of one. The refills are expensive, especially considering what a Dorco subscription will run you, so forget about saving money unless you change your delivery scheduled to once a quarter.

If I had to make a choice between this or the Harry’s razor, I’d easily take this one. Better feel, better ergonomics, nicer head design.

]]>
Groomed Cool It! Post Shave Balm http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/groomed-cool-it-post-shave-balm/ Sat, 20 Oct 2018 12:02:01 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=635 This is one of Creighton’s own brands. Although it appears identical to their newer For Men range. 1st shave This states it includes peppermint and menthol, and the minty scent certainly dominated when I first applied it. Any cooling was very mild and I didn’t register it. The ingredients are identical to the For Men - Read the rest of this review]]>

This is one of Creighton’s own brands. Although it appears identical to their newer For Men range.

1st shave

This states it includes peppermint and menthol, and the minty scent certainly dominated when I first applied it. Any cooling was very mild and I didn’t register it.

The ingredients are identical to the For Men balm. The fragrance left behind seemed the same as well, very different from the shave cream.

Quite thick, it benefited from a little water to help it spread.

This comes in a tube rather than a bottle and I found it very easy to dispense and see how much I had.

2nd shave

I didn’t use water to thin it this time. In fact a little squeeze was enough to project it out of the tub and I had plenty.

It spread easily and was quickly absorbed, without any greasy feel.

My face was left soft, but a little dry still.

The floral notes are subtle, but hung around after application, although I had to hunt in order to pick them up.

3rd shave

No water this time and it smoothed over my chops without effort. A slight squeeze was enough for it to eject out of the tube.

It was absorbed quickly and didn’t leave any greasy feel.

The fragrance definitely differs from the cream. For starters, when applied, the peppermint and menthol is the strongest components and these affect everything else.

It wasn’t the softest or most conditioned finish, but pretty good.

4th shave

It again proved easy to spread and massage in, disappearing without leaving a greasy feel.

My face was left soft but quite dry.

The peppermint seemed to be the dominant fragrance when I applied, which isn’t ideal — it’s not a great scent and overwhelms the more natural floral tones.

Verdict

Although it comes in a top down squeezy tube, the removable cap and small size make it simple to see and control how much you’re dispensing, unlike some other products with flip-top lids. That said, the packaging reflects the price.

Aside from the first use, I found it easy to extract, easy to smooth over my face and it was absorbed quickly without leaving any greasy residue.

The cooling is non-existent as far as I can tell, but the peppermint and menthol do dominate the fragrance profile, which didn’t entice me. The associated shave cream smells good, but this was overwhelmed by those two.

It did the job when it came to moisturising, although I found I was still left a little dry. This does seem to be a common problem for me.

Personally, I think there are better options out there, even those this is insanely well priced.

]]>
Harry’s Truman Razor http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/harrys-truman-razor/ Sat, 08 Sep 2018 12:19:59 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=632 Following on from their gel, here’s a review of the hardware. 1st shave This didn’t do a bad job. My neck was generally good, but I had a lot of roughness in my usual trouble-spots, especially along my jawline. WTG my face was nice and smooth. ATG there was some resistance, in places quite substantial, - Read the rest of this review]]>

Following on from their gel, here’s a review of the hardware.

1st shave

This didn’t do a bad job. My neck was generally good, but I had a lot of roughness in my usual trouble-spots, especially along my jawline. WTG my face was nice and smooth. ATG there was some resistance, in places quite substantial, but generally minimal. Nowhere made it to BBS.

2nd shave

In terms of finish, it was pretty good. I still had some roughness on my neck, and it seems especially bad at clearing my jawline, despite the pivot head. My face was better, with only some minor roughness ATG.

3rd shave

It tore through my stubble with ease and without irritation, but this time I found the overly large head a bit of an annoyance. Five blades feels like overkill and the resulting slab you have to drag around is unwieldy.

I noticed this most when tackling my top lip, you just can’t get under your nose ATG. They’re obviously aware of this so they fit a trimmer blade to the end and, to be fair, that did the job. Where it doesn’t work is places like the corner of your mouth or dimples where neither can reach.

If you’re used to Gillette’s offering this likely won’t be an issue, as you don’t know any different, but if you’ve used a DE razor it stands out.

4th shave

The finish wasn’t as good this time, and not just in the harder-to-reach places. My cheeks had a fair bit of resistance ATG despite numerous passes.

I also struggled with my top lip again, although the trimmer seem to help me achieve a reasonable result there.

It’s quite nice to simply chuck it around without worrying too much. So okay for a quick shave.

Used with: Lucky Tiger Liquid Shave Cream

The razor performed pretty well, although I had to clean it a bit more vigourously to avoid clogging. No nicks and the end result, while not perfect, was a good shave.

It struggled with the nooks and crannies again, but did better on the wide expanses.

Part of the reason for trying this razor was to see if it could save time over a regular DE shave, while providing a better finish than my electric. It certainly outperforms my electric shaver. Yet, despite having four more blades, it isn’t any quicker than a brushless shave with my DE razor.

I approach it in a more gung-ho way than when using a safety razor, with which I still manage to nick myself occasionally, and I attempt fewer passes — I assume all those extra blades should make them unnecessary — but the amount of touch-ups I need to do mean it takes just as long.

So it may save some blood, but not any time.

Used with: Crabtree & Evelyn’s Moroccan Myrrh Shave Cream

I loaded up my synthetic brush, which was a little wet, so didn’t give me the best lather. Slickness wasn’t all that great either, which meant I picked up a few small nicks. They were sealed by cold water. As I applied my balm I didn’t find my whole face had irritation though. The roughness in my usual trouble-spots was a little worse than usual, but otherwise my neck was very good. WTG it was silky smooth. ATG there was some resistance but no real roughness. Nowhere made it to BBS, or got close. I could feel the irritation as I ran my hand over the skin. Post shave feel was pleasant. A good shave.

Verdict

The trial pack is supplied with The Truman, which is largely plastic. They also offer The Winston, which is metal. Designed in the US and engineered in Germany, or so it says. The razor looks nice. It’s not particularly weighty, but it’s comparable to a Mach 3, despite being physically much larger.

The five-bladed cartridge looks huge to me, I find three blades the sweet spot for cartridges. It’s plastic and hinged at the bottom, so you end up dragging it over your face like a sledge. There is a trimmer blade set into the top to help with things like under your nose, which is hard to reach with such a slab.

I assume the multiple blades are to help both cut faster, and spread the stress on your skin to reduce nicks. I didn’t find I needed any fewer passes to get a close shave though. They should offer a version with fewer blades (as some of their competitors do), but that’s not an option.

If I had to pick between this and a Mach 3, I’d still take the Mach 3. The balance feels better, the head pivot is more capable and the head is simply better balanced.

It was simply enough to throw around. The handle is a nice bit of design. The blades are very sharp and cut easily through my industrial-grade stubble, but that didn’t mean I could skip a pass and I still had to do plenty of touch-ups. So the extra blades don’t appear to add much.

I found the size of the head annoying, Five blades are simply unnecessary and make it unwieldy. It became aggravating trying to maneuver it around. It wouldn’t be so bad if it saved time, or provided a superior finish, but it doesn’t. I’d be interested to know what the decision behind picking five was.

A refill pack of blades is £15 for 8. Mach 3 blades are actually cheaper. So the idea that you’re saving is only true if you opt for a ProGlide. Even then, the saving is pretty slim (I found 8 for just over £18).

It does the job, but not better than any other razor I’ve tried, and not as well as my DE razors (although I tend to shave quicker and without the same attention to detail with this). Therefore, this needs to compete on price, which is clearly doesn’t, even against Gillette.

I’d still take my old Mach 3. I have a few other subscription razors coming, so we’ll see how it compares to them.

]]>
Harry’s Shave Gel http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/review/harrys-shave-gel/ Tue, 04 Sep 2018 12:00:29 +0000 http://shave.consumeandreview.co.uk/?post_type=product_review&p=631 Something a bit different, with some canned goo from a subscription service. 1st shave I was a bit confused by the packaging, trying to twist the top off, when all I needed to do was pull. I then pressed the button heavily, thinking I was going to need to break some sort of seal. That - Read the rest of this review]]>

Something a bit different, with some canned goo from a subscription service.

1st shave

I was a bit confused by the packaging, trying to twist the top off, when all I needed to do was pull. I then pressed the button heavily, thinking I was going to need to break some sort of seal. That meant the aerosol ejected more gel than I needed.

It immediately foamed up. As did the remains in the bottle, leaving an expanding trail of mess. The bottle could probably use a redesign to prevent that. I used to use gel, before I was enlightened, but I would have preferred cream now — something they do offer but not in the trial pack.

The quality of the foam was poor. It was airy and dry, but I smeared it over my chops and was pleased to find it provided plenty of slickness, especially when my skin was wet. I didn’t pick up any nicks.

I treated it as I do other brushless creams, keeping a quantity on one hand and re-applying for each pass. This worked well.

I did several passes, with and against the grain, plus touch-ups. I had to do a few more of the latter than I’d expected.

It has a strong, cologne-like scent. It’s aiming for ‘manly’ but strides the line between pleasant and repulsive. Not sure of the exact scent, but it’s not something I’d look for.

My neck was generally good, but I had a lot of roughness in my usual trouble-spots, especially along my jawline. WTG my face was nice and smooth. ATG there was some resistance, in places quite substantial, but generally minimal. Nowhere made it to BBS.

Post shave feel was pretty good. Reasonably soft but dry.

All-in-all a good, almost very good, shave.

2nd shave

I used a little less this time. I was concerned with the dryness when I initially applied it, and slickness didn’t seem too good, but subsequent passes with some water on my skin proved to be plenty slick. I did pick up a few nicks, but these were largely re-opening existing wounds. Both new and old were sealed by the time I applied cold water. I had some roughness on my neck, especially along my jawline. WTG my face was smooth. ATG there was a little resistance, and nowhere got close to BBS, but no full-on roughness. Post shave feel was soft but a bit dry. A pretty good shave.

3rd shave

I overdid it slightly on the amount, but better that way round. Although it foamed up, when I rubbed over my face I found the foam often disappeared, leaving me to guess where I had and had not shaved. Slickness was good once more and I didn’t pick up any nicks. I had a little roughness in my usual trouble-spots, but otherwise my neck was good. WTG my face was smooth. ATG there was a little resistance, and a patch that bordered on roughness. Nowhere made it to BBS though. I also found the nooks and crannies weren’t well finished. Post shave feel was good, perhaps a little dry. I don’t recall the fragrance during the shave, but it subtly hangs around long afterward. It’s got a generic ‘mens’ shaving foam scent. A good shave.

4th shave

Again, getting the right amount out of the can isn’t easy, so I ended up with more than I needed. The foam stayed around better this time, at least on the early passes. Slickness was good from the start and I didn’t pick up any nicks. My neck was okay, not particularly close and there was roughness in my usual trouble-spots. WTG my face felt pretty smooth. ATG there was a lot of resistance, despite going over some areas numerous times. Again, some issues in the harder-to-reach places. Post shave feel was average. The fragrance was subtle again, and vanished post shave. An average shave.

Used with: Gillette 7 O’Clock Super Platinum (3rd shave)

This time I used it with my DE razor. On the first pass the foam was a little dry and didn’t offer much slickness, but on subsequent passes it was very slick. I picked up a few tiny nicks during touch-ups, most of which were sealed by cold water. My neck was okay. It didn’t feel particularly close, but wasn’t bad either. It was a little hit-and-miss though. My face wasn’t bad WTG. There was plenty of resistance ATG, bordering on roughness in places. Post shave feel was very average. I got a brief whiff of the fragrance at the start but don’t recall it after that. Another average shave.

Verdict

Something a bit different this time. Previously, I used an electric shaver between wet shaves in the week; partly for time, partly to rest my skin. I was constantly disappointed by the finish though, so tried daily shaves when I had some time off work and found no issues. In an effort to strike a balance, I wanted to see if I could use a multi-blade cartridge razor for a quick brushless shave to offer an alternative to the electric. Hence I took up the offer from Harry’s for their cheap trial pack, which included this gel.

I tried to follow a similar cycle to my other software reviews, although primarily using the razor it was supplied with, except for the final shave.

I’d recommend starting with a wet face, as there’s very little moisture to provide a cushion for the razor to glide on until there’s a wet surface. With water, it provided plenty of slickness though. It compared well to the brushless creams I’ve used in this regard.

To be fair, it wasn’t as bad as I feared. It did the job. And, while it didn’t provide the same protection, at least on the first pass, as other brushless products do, adding water massively improved this.

Getting it out of the can and the mess it left behind was annoying. The fragrance didn’t do anything for me — maybe they should try offering a range of scents.

None of that really matters as, at the end of the day, it’s all about the shave. In this regard, it was very hit and miss. I got some good shaves, but they seemed to deteriorate over time.

My travel-size can normally goes for £2.50, but a full-size one (191ml) will cost you £5 — which makes even Gillette’s Fusion products look reasonable. It doesn’t appear to be part of the subscription cost, so at least you can skip it.

This isn’t something that would make it into my rotation and, if you’re using this, I’d recommend finding something else. Harry’s do offer a shave cream, but this does cost twice as much. There are plenty of other creams you can pick up for a lot less that I’d put ahead of it.

]]>